Birthday Bear!

Hello Word Press Fans *tap tap*… is this thing on?

Well it has been another year, not a year since my last post, but another year since my last birthday, well actually… my birthday was last month on June 21st. We have been pretty busy over the last few months and while we have had no shortage of fun and adventure my blogging has been seriously lacking and I apologize for that. I hope you all missed me as much as I missed you all!

Well there was much adieu about a certain visitor we had on the very morning of my birthday. I know you read the title, which is probably why you clicked on my blog to read and find out what exactly a bear might have to do with someone’s birthday. Well the story goes like this:

It was the morning of the birthday of yours truly and I was getting some much needed beauty sleep… (what? you think this comes naturally?, lol, well thanks I appreciate that, truly!). Well, about the usual time in the morning our local birds began singing. They were chattering more loudly that usual but I did not think too much of it and as usual I got up and closed our bedroom window so that we could get a few extra minutes of shut-eye, it was about 4:30 in the morning after all. I lay back down and I could not relax enough to go back to sleep, this was unusual for me this early in the morning. I lay there and tried to get comfortable enough so I could relax and fall back into dream land. Instead I just continued to lay there. The room began to lighten slightly and then darken once more followed by a sound that sounded like thunder. I asked my sleeping husband, “did you hear that?” He said sleepily, “hm?” I said, that sound, it sort of sounded like thunder… I paused and after no response from sleeping hubby I decided I was already awake, I should go to the bathroom window and have a look for myself. From the bathroom window I verified that there were indeed clouds enough to justify that that sound I heard must have been thunder. I did not know we were expecting rain. I hung out in the bathroom pondering if I should even try to go back to bed when suddenly I hear my daughter’s bedroom door BURST open and she was RUNNING … I was like …oh no, I hope she is not needing to come into the bathroom because I’m in here, so I say….”I’m in the bathroom,” just as she is BURSTING into our bedroom to my sleeping hubby and she excitedly proclaimed, “THERE’S A BEAR IN THE FRONT YARD, THERE’S A BEAR IN THE FRONT YARD.” Instantly I am out the door WITH my phone running down the stairs, my husband and daughter ran back to her room to observe the beastly bear from her perspective in her bedroom.

ThunderNectar2

What Husband and Daughter saw …. :-O

I ran down to the dining room where I knew I would have a good view of the bird feeder he was busting into. It was still just dawn and the sun was not nearly up enough to give us perspective for our cameras’ sake.

By now, my husband and daughter came downstairs to see if they could get closer to the bear to observe him. My husband went into our sunroom to try and snap some closer shots of him, but the lighting was not in our favor.

To see a video of what we saw, albeit very dark and grainy, but decent none-the-less, click here.

So with all our bear spying out of the way my thoughts turned towards us, our farm, our animals and our safety concerning said bear feeling “comfortable” on our land and property.

I quickly concocted a plan to SCARE the EVER LIVING DAYLIGHTS out of this bear in hopes that as much as I LOVE bears (truly I do, but I don’t want to end up in a pile of bear dung, you understand…) he will never, ever, ever, ever, ever, never, (add more evers and nevers, you get the idea) return!

Based on a scenario we had with a much less formidable (to humans anyway) creature we once contended with… a Road Runner (That will have to be a #TBT for another time.). My final plan to STRONGLY discourage the Road Runner from hanging about was to employ my “secret weapons,” my Aussie Posse. They are a formidable bunch, only they are short one out of the original three, in her youth their leader, Ocean, used to be tough and ruthless, she is now … rough and literally toothless (bless her). So I stealthily retreat to the basement to gather my secret weapons, Ty and his son Ronen. I bring them upstairs as quietly as I possibly can but remember how early it was in the morning?? It was very early, I think we are rounding to about 4:45 AM maybe now, I had not even pottied the dogs or anything, they are fresh out of their kennels and having no idea of the favor I’m about to ask them. The favor? You may ask… well the favor is that I want the dogs to go postal on the bear… through the storm door. No I would NEVER intentionally unleash my dogs on a bear, that would be a suicide mission and I happen to like… no LOVE my dogs very much. ๐Ÿ™‚ So on “go” I have increased anticipation in my dogs saying to them “are you ready? are you ready? lets go… etc,” they have NOOOO idea of what they are ready for but they are like “yeah, yeah, yeah!” I, as quietly as possible, crack the front door open, but the bear has already begun to bolt, in hopes to get a BIGGER scare I YANK the door open and tell the dogs “get him, get him!!” I bang on the glass for a BIGGER effect and Ronen backs me up, Ty unfortunately did not like this and had no clue what this was all about and he ran to his dog bed in the living room to hide leaving me with Ronen as my side kick. As the bear retreated from his quarry (my favorite bird feeder, pics to follow below) I wanted him to know we MEANT business!! I stepped out on the porch to yell at him some more saying, “GET OUT OF HERE!!” The bear stopped and turned and looked as if to say, “but I wasn’t done yet.” I was like, “BAD BEAR, GO ON, GET OUT OF HERE!!” I clapped my hands and made such a clamor and somehow, my daughter opened the door (probably to tell me to get back in the house) and Ronen slipped out and zoomed after the bear assailant, now my attention turned to Ronen, my Aussie vigilante!! He is one that will seem to bite off more than he can chew but the boy will finish what he starts. I did NOT want to find out the outcome if he came in contact with the bear though so I turned my attention to call Ronen back to ME! The charging canine did the trick and the bear wasn’t going to stick around to find out what this was about, he boogied out past our front gate and towards this big giant bush (that I have a love/hate relationship with), one big giant bush big enough to house at least 6 bears I’m sure! The bear in his exit ran by it, too, so I could verify that! Yep! At LEAST 6 bears for sure! So he ran, and headed towards the road, a car even had to slow down for the bear to make his escape.

Phew!

So here is the damage that my birthday bear laid out for me

Gazebo Bird Feeder $15:

ThunderNectar5

ThunderNectar4

Experience: Priceless!

We will rebuild…

Did I mention that we named him? At first we thought, “Basil,” but after surveying the damage and thinking of all the mornings events and the wake of destruction he left we decided on a more Indian type name of: “Thunder Nectar.” ๐Ÿ™‚

To Note: How did I know he was a male bear? While I can’t say that I know exactly for SURE, but I can say from experience because…well, years ago I used to work at The Wild Animal Orphanage in San Antonio, TX. I believe it is closed now, sadly. We had bears there and I have learned what sets the males and females apart. One thing was … he was alone. This time of year it is uncommon to see a bear without cubs if it is a female. The second thing is that it was LARGE, yes bears are large, but he was at least a good 10″ taller at the shoulder than what a female bear would be. So we had what “appeared” to be a young male bear here on our hands.

Thatโ€™s all for now, stay tuned until next time.:)

Yah bless!

aaronic-blessing-print

About Maritza

We are a small family of 3 and a bunch of critters.We love God, our Country and it's foundations. We made a BIG move from Texas to Massachusetts in May 2013.This blog captures our 'new' life, there is never a dull moment. There is a lot of charm and character in this place and I plan to unveil it all and bring it to you in the painting presentation of word pictures and more.
Quote | This entry was posted in Adventure, Bear, birthday party, Family, farm, farm life, God, MA, Predator, Predators, Southbridge, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday Bear!

  1. Leticia McKenzie says:

    Exciting and very interestingly described! What an adventure indeed! Glad the bear got the message and left. Prettlly dangerous situation too! You handledon’t it all very w

    Like

Leave a Reply

