Christmas Testimony

Wednesday, December 25 – Our Testimony

baf1b-christmastreeTHIS was the final straw for our family. We went to CHURCH one day. Expecting to see a Christmas play of Joseph and Mary, etc. We are fine with that. Although on the “wrong day” it is a Bible-based story. We were SHOCKED to discover that instead of the traditional Baby Jesus story, they did a whole program on the Christmas tree and how each decoration represented something concerning God and his son. How the green represented eternal life in Jesus and some other GARBAGE like this. My mom (who had insisted we go on this day, I had planned on not going, did not have a tree up in my home but wasn’t completely committed to my new decision of not celebrating Christmas for the warm toasty and what it meant to me reasons). So here we were, my then infant baby, my husband and Mom, sitting it the pews at an SDA church in Shreveport, LA with our jaws ON THE FLOOR at this procession about the Christmas tree. At this point we had done our research and knew what all these things meant. That was IT. I had my fake Douglas Fir Christmas tree in the attic. Later that day, I pulled it down and got RID of it. I was DONE. Never have I looked back. Thankfully my family, including most of my extended family walked away from Christmas too. Like I said, THIS was it, the defining moment, for me.

What did we do instead? Nothing. We just did not do anything at Christmas time from then on out. For 3 years we did nothing, we did not want to “replace” Christmas with anything else as a substitute (ie Hannukah in particular). It was much later when we decided to celebrate Hannukah when we learned more about this Feast. At the time we stopped doing Christmas we were not celebrating any other Biblical Holy Days. We did not know about them at the time. We simply STOPPED doing Christmas. I had already forgoed Easter many years back when we scratched our heads at the lack of connections between Egg laying rabbits and our Savior’s death on the cross for our sins. But that’s another story.

Every time the “season” rolled around we would revisit the reasons we chose to NO LONGER celebrate. Each year we learned more and more, and have deepened our convictions in this arena. I know it is a journey. From the day we learned about the truth behind “Christmas” otherwise truly known as “The Feast of Saturnalia” we camped on the truth for at least 5 years before we made our move to abandon Christmas altogether. What it meant to us did not matter. We began to understand that it was MORE important what it meant to YHVH.

 My position is to not slam others for their beliefs. Especially those of us that once participated in these holidays know where others are coming from. My position is to simply inform. I realize that even that may not be taken well and I can’t help that. I have had quite a few unfriends because of my views. It is what it is. I will not stop sharing because I was once in their shoes. Conviction came… eventually. Everyone has to walk out their own testimony.

 Coming from a Christian background, we were believers all along. My Mom is a praying person and has always been that way. Aside from ONE picture with Santa when I was like 4 years old I have not been taught to believe that Santa was “coming” or anything. That was a mistake and my Mom always pointed to “Jesus’ birth” at this time of year. The problem was that we were following tradition. Tradition that had been handed down from generation to generation. When our eyes were finally open to have understanding in this area, then we made the CHOICE to change what we were doing.

About Maritza

We are a small family of 3 and a bunch of critters.We love God, our Country and it's foundations. We made a BIG move from Texas to Massachusetts in May 2013.This blog captures our 'new' life, there is never a dull moment. There is a lot of charm and character in this place and I plan to unveil it all and bring it to you in the painting presentation of word pictures and more.
This entry was posted in apostasy, Faith, Family, forgiveness, God, grace, Heritage, Prayer, Scripture, teshuvah, Torah, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

