Braggin’

So, imagine the scene… we have had an awesome 4-H day in Canton, MA at a Horse Judging Competition in which our daughter had an impromptu shot at Judging (we originally thought we’d just go watch). Daughter knocks it out of the park (considering this is her first time doing this particular venue, we usually have done cows only in 4-H this far)!!

LS248

We are elated, go to dinner with the crew, after all she is now eligible to be on the STATE TEAM should she choose (she has not chosen yet). So we are at dinner getting to know our new 4-H friends and possible future STATE team mates and we are sharing Instagram stories and bragging on our horses, etc. We leave the restaurant and have an hour and a half to drive home. Arriving home we have our game plan in place to get chores DONE and get in the house to chill before bed. I get out to open our gate. I undo the chain and my chain rattles are answered by a soft knicker. I don’t pause because I figure, well the horses *should* be hungry by now, we are late for chores after all. Hubby drives truck through, I close the gate and up around the bend I see a horse… staring at me. Odd, we all think, hubby says, “the pony is out.” I’m like, “no, I don’t think that is the pony.” I don’t bother getting back in the truck, I just walk up the driveway to find not one, but TWO horses standing in the driveway… outside their fence. Well the grass is now mowed! haha!!


I go into the barn to grab two halters to lead these wayward beasts back to their pen and figure out what in the world happened. The two horses that are out are the Arab, Justice and the QH/Arab cross, Treasure. They share the same pen, and all the other horses appear to be in their pens. I go to Justice and Treasure’s pen and the gate is shut tight and laced up, just like I left it. I unlace it because, well I now have to put these guys back in their pen. I discover what happened. A breech in the pen fence infrastructure occurred with Faith, one of our other horses moved her self enclosed round pen and misshaped it into a, well, different shape that opened up a gap in the pen that her pen (stay with me here) covered. So with her new found pen shape and the new gaping gap open the two horses took the opportunity and went on an adventure… to the front yard.

We quickly arrange the pens, shuffle horses around, feed horses and then turn to house hold chores and the dogs. With the barn “buttoned-up” we are able to walk around and check to see what the horses got up to on their adventure. There are hoof beats all around the front yard. When you are an Arab, you don’t really do anything in slow motion. Trotting here and trotting there is great fun, who needs to walk when you can trot, and with all new area to explore cantering is great fun, too. At some point this pair came up to the front door and discovered my personal secret stash, a bird feeder FULL of black-oil sunflower seeds. Well guess what, it is now completely empty. No need to worry about that “black bear” I was concerned about. Thankfully, we actually feed our horses black-oil sunflower seeds. Usually not this many… but … hopefully it will all be ok.

I’m THANKFUL that we have a front gate. I’m THANKFUL the situation was what it was. I THANKFUL no one got hurt!! The pen is now secure and order is restored.

That’s all for now, stay tuned until next time. 🙂

Yah bless!

aaronic-blessing-print

 

 

 

 

About Maritza

We are a small family of 3 and a bunch of critters.We love God, our Country and it's foundations. We made a BIG move from Texas to Massachusetts in May 2013.This blog captures our 'new' life, there is never a dull moment. There is a lot of charm and character in this place and I plan to unveil it all and bring it to you in the painting presentation of word pictures and more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Braggin’

  1. Leticia McKenzie says:

    Wow!! What an adventure!! Starting with the winner in judging at the 4-H Club (Congratulations, Alayna!) and then at home with the horses!! Must be feeling good about this time to finally call it “a day!!” For a week full of thanks, this surely will be a good one that all is safe and settled. Thanking our Father and looking forward to a good night’s rest!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

