Throw Back Thursday – Snake Bite!

This one is a Throwback from August 2008! Enjoy!


CopperheadOur oldest dog, Astra, was bitten by a Copperhead about a week ago. We went and took the dogs out for a walk around our property. It had been raining and we were out “between showers.” The dogs had cabin fever and were beside themselves, finally getting the chance to actually stretch out their legs and smell all the smelly smells the rain only enhances. Astra veered off the trail hot on a pig trail with Ronen our 6 month old puppy on her tail. I caught a glimpse of Astra down an inaccessable trail, about 25 ft from me, she was bounding back toward me and as soon as she landed on the dirt path I was on… she began to rub her nose in the dirt. I knew “something” had happened, but wasn’t sure what at that point. I looked more closely, but still could see nothing significant. I could only tell by Astra’s symptoms that she was very uncomfortable. So we headed back towards the house. I had dinner preping and had to return indoors to continue preparing dinner. My dd asked to stay outside with the dogs. I agreed, but reminded her sternly to stay out of the brush and to stay close to the house. I brought some treats out so my dd could play a “treat search” game with them. I handed her the treats and all the dogs were front and center, all except… Astra! I searched the yard with my eyes, and I saw her laying in the grass. “Odd,” I thought, “Astra is usually the FIRST in line, she’s my treat hound!” I called her over, and she was very unsteady on her feet as she stood up and she staggered towards me. I knew then that she most certainly had been bitten by a snake. I immediately scrambled into motion. I had Astra lay down near the door and had my dd keep an eye on her, making sure she didn’t try to get up and walk around. Meantime, I ran around trying to find the bottle of Benadryl I had purchased 5 months ago and it seemed to have disappeared. I had looked for it before, but without success, I even wondered if I had even purchased a bottle at all. I prayed, and just in that moment, Yah answered my prayers! I went straight to it. I had my dh pick up some baby aspirin. We treated Astra, and she slept and slept. The next day I gave her some meds and also an Activated Charcoal capsule to help absorb some toxins. Her body is still sorting on the necrotic tissue associated with the bite, but I have a feeling she’ll be just fine. Praise Yah!


Comment on this story 2015:

I am reminded how gracious YHVH is in moments like these! I remember my prayer and then finding the Benadryl in the cabinet! I LOVE moments like these! 🙂

Until next time – Yah bless!

aaronic-blessing-print

About Maritza

We are a small family of 3 and a bunch of critters.We love God, our Country and it's foundations. We made a BIG move from Texas to Massachusetts in May 2013.This blog captures our 'new' life, there is never a dull moment. There is a lot of charm and character in this place and I plan to unveil it all and bring it to you in the painting presentation of word pictures and more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Throw Back Thursday – Snake Bite!

  1. D Turner says:

    No Copperheads there? Haven’t seen one around here since you left…sure you didn’t take them with you? 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

