Throw Back Thursday – Update on the Mini Farm

#TBT from September 2008


1580320_origWell we’ve had an eventful September so far. All the animals are doing great, our puppy Ronen is getting BIG and so are our little goats. They are still little (Nigerian Dwarf Goats) but they are much bigger than before. They’ll still grow some. Their birthdays are July 4th so they are only a few months old at this point. Also dd decided to change our little red goat’s name from Flame to… Jedidiah. Incidently I learned that Jedidiyah means: Beloved of YHVH . Very sweet. dd’s newest most favorite movie is Night at the Museum and she particularly like the little diorama men, Jedidiah and Octavius. That is why she renamed the red goat, I didn’t want to change Java’s name so I am keeping it the same, I like calling him Jumping Java. Now the hunt is on for a suitable blue-eyed male goat that I plan to name Octavius. So far we’ve had dead leads, nothing yet. We’ll definitely post about it when we find our little guy. We are also looking for some does. So far we are waiting for this family to have some babies and we may purchase a few. Otherwise I am still looking elsewhere since we got our boys from them I wanted to venture out and find other lines to introduce. Also we were wanting to breed for both color (eyes and otherwise) and milk production. I like to get the full package in all my endeavors, although it doesn’t always work out that way… I still try.

So last week we had a young man from our fellowship come over and help us clear some more of our property. We are still working on getting it fenced and building shelters so we’ll be set for when winter hits us. In South-Central Texas winter is usually late, but we can get a few surprise fronts until it “really arrives.” We just want to be prepared for that especially since… oh yes… we are hatching baby Indian Runner Duck eggs. I have 8 in the incubator at the moment, I think one is not viable though. It’s much lighter than the others. The others are getting much much denser. We’ll see what happens. We have a very imbalanced flock. From what I can tell from our 8 adult ducks, we have 5 drakes and 3 hens. We are hoping to get some more hens out of this hatching but from what I hear the flocks will not integrate. I’m not really certain how things will play out, so we’ll have to wait and see. Although I’ve read that some say they do just fine! If they do, I am thinking about getting some Fawn and White Indian Runners in the Spring.

So… as I began to say up above, a young man from our fellowship came over to help us clear some of our property, while we were outside sorting out some issues with him I noticed my oldest female dogs showing TOO much attention to a small row of bushes surrounded by tall grass that we were prepping to be mowed. Being that she was the recent victim of a snake bite I kept telling her to stay out of the bushes, but every time I turned around, there she was… in the bushes AGAIN! Well about the 5th time I told her, I heard squeaking so I promptly investigated. There lying at the base of the bushes were 3 little baby bunnies! Oh great!!! Everybody knows baby bunnies don’t do well with bottle rearing!! One of the baby bunnies was dead, I couldn’t really tell why, there was not any obvious reasons. The other 2 bunnies looked as though they had been bitten and they were bleeding and had fire ants biting them!! I was thinking I could put them back in the nest but the nest had a few fire ants in there too! I knew if I left them between the dogs and the ants they would meet their fate! So I figured well if they have a 50/50 chance of survival out here, I suppose I can also give them a 50/50 chance if I take them inside and try to rear them myself. So I did! Of course when you need something you can not find it! I was looking for my baby animal items, my heating pad, a soft blanket for them to snuggle in, something to put them in that would keep them safe from dogs and now inside there is also a kitty with a HIGH prey drive. I had to find a safe, quiet place to put them and find my container with bottles, syringes and nipples to feed the little guys. One thing I knew I had for certain was milk! We get raw Jersey milk from a certified dairy and it is perfect! We used it to raise baby fawns and I knew now that I would use it for these little bunnies. Turns out it is even more perfect than I thought (well next to actual momma bunny milk) Jersey milk is high in fat which is just what baby bunnies need. Turns out they only eat 2 times a day, once in the morning and once in the evening. The momma bunny’s milk is very high in fat and it is enough to keep the baby bunnies feeling satisfied for that length of time. In fact, one of the mistakes that most people make when raising baby bunnies is they feed them TOO MUCH!! This is the easiest set of babies as of yet. I’m used to the every 2-4 hour feeds etc, but these guys so far have been great! The only thing that still worries me is that baby bunnies are VERY sensitive, I’m surprised that with the injuries they sustained the day I rescued them that they are still alive. I once had a bunny I bought from a feed store, it got out of it’s pen and my cousin’s dogs really terrified it. It was not bitten or anything, but it died later that day from SHOCK! That was so shocking to me, so I know how sensitive these little guys can be, but so far they’re doing ok. Which makes me very happy. We plan to release them far from here when and if they reach weaning age. We’ll see what happens. You just never know with these little guys.

We’ll keep you posted… 🙂


Comment on this story 2015:

So I’m guessing some of you readers are going to want an update on the bunnies. Well, I actually blogged about that a few years back, and I can’t seem to find that one. In a nutshell, the bunnies made it 3 weeks. They were growing, thriving, fattening, doing all the things baby bunnies should do, but then… I ran low on cream. I still had raw milk, but no cream. I got milk too late, the bunnies did not make it. 😦 With that said, we knew from ‘go’ that the bunnies were high risk. I know everyone has an opinion on this and I will just say I won’t debate it, but I know we did the right thing and I would gladly do it again… if I didn’t live in Massachusetts and have to pay a TAX in order to help local wildlife (but that soap box will have to be saved for ANOTHER blog). 🙂

Until next time – Yah bless!

aaronic-blessing-print

About Maritza

We are a small family of 3 and a bunch of critters.We love God, our Country and it's foundations. We made a BIG move from Texas to Massachusetts in May 2013.This blog captures our 'new' life, there is never a dull moment. There is a lot of charm and character in this place and I plan to unveil it all and bring it to you in the painting presentation of word pictures and more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

