Scripture Saturday – Right in our own eyes

21193_259712194150831_894554247_n There is a way that seems right to a man, But its end is the way of death. Pro 16:25

JerusalemNo one wants to really be wrong, do they? So if we are all right in our own eyes, we can’t all be right? Can we? I believe the answer is unequivocally, no. So, as truth seekers, as most people are, no matter what their religious or non-religious affiliations… how do we figure who or what is right? There are a plethora of religious organizations, who is right?

Well, this is my opinion (which may not be right) but I believe that all these religious organizations have “something right.” William Schnoebelen of With One Accord Ministries says that

“even a broken clock is right twice a day.”

I agree with that. No one has everything wrong, but humans, as a rule can not have everything right either. Kent Hovind has been known to say to a person who said there are no absolutes:

“are you absolutely sure?”

Hovind also said to one person:

Hovind: “Do you know everything?”

Person: “no”

Hovind: “Do you know half of everything?

Person: “no”

So if this is true and you, my reader, agree with me… how do we know what is truth and what is, well, not truth?

My answer comes in the following verse in 2 Timothy 2:15

bibleTeachingGod said in his word in Hosea 4:6 that “My people perish for lack of knowledge.”

486128_518612508160415_1144018981_aSo essentially, what is happening is we, as mere humans, are ‘the blind leading the blind’

images4“Leave them alone. They are blind leaders of the blind. And if the blind leads the blind, both shall fall into a ditch.” Mat 15:14

So what do we do then, how do we fix the problem of not having “The Truth.” What is “The Truth?” If an incident happens there is a saying that says “there is your story, my story, and then there’s ‘The Truth’.”

My answer (my truth) leads me to prayer. Humbly yourself before God (YHVH) and ask Him to SHOW you ‘The Truth.’ Ask Him to give you DISCERNMENT. Ask Him to give you “eyes to see” and “ears to hear.” Ask Him to give you a “Teachable Spirit.” Ask Him to send his Ruach haKodesh (Holy Spirit) to instruct you in His ways.

396b8980df13210b0cc940da26d035ee_webBe a Student of the Word of YHVH. He will begin to reveal Himself to you. Never take the words of a mere man over the Word of YHVH. Test everything. If a man’s words contradict Scripture, DO NOT HEED them. Do so at your own peril.

By spending time studying the Word of YHVH we learn what the words say. Did you know that federal agents  study genuine bills until they master the look of the real thing. Then when they see the bogus money they recognize it. They don’t learn to spot counterfeit money by studying the counterfeits.

images7Head knowledge of Scripture is really not enough. I mean, even the devil knows Scripture. So another thing I highly recommend is to keep a prayer life. Many of us are Bookshelf Believers. We talk the talk, but do not walk the walk. Some go to Church on the weekend and then go home, place their book on the bookshelf and allow it to collect dust all week until the following weekend. This will not bring you to truth, the light. You will remain in the dark.

Do you remember the story of Daniel in the Bible, he spent 3 times per day praying to YHVH. I could be wrong here (Maritza = human) but I’m not certain that he was simply praying before he at his food. I believe he literally spent time, on his face, seeking YHVH. My opinion of course. Am I right?? 🙂

My Personal Testimony:

a little nutThere was a time when I really began to seek knowledge. I prayed a simple prayer, at the time I really thought I was this great Christian, but *shocker, I know* I was not perfect, still am not. I prayed that YHVH would open my eyes to see ‘The Truth.” Boy, I did NOT know exactly what I was asking for, but I soon found out. Some of you may not understand this but at the time I prayed this prayer we lived Shreveport, LA. We were traveling to visit family in Texas and as we drove down I-35 in Austin, TX, we had traveled this route plenty of times in my lifetime, I suddenly became dramatically aware of something I had never noticed before. This may mean “nothing” to some of you, but to me it meant A LOT. I had never truly “seen” these items from this perspective. It was like I was seeing this with “new eyes.”

This is what I saw:

I was shocked, my jaw was literally on the floor and to be honest, after YHVH opened my eyes I find this happen to me a lot, almost laughable, but I am still to this day finding myself shocked to the core at what I see sometimes!

Seeing this sight, I did not understand what I was seeing, I had to go home, PRAY, and STUDY to find out what it was that was brought to my attention other than the obvious (the pagan temple and goddess) to be certain I knew what YHVH was trying to show me here. The findings on this surely deserves a separate post in itself so I will save it for that. For now, I just wanted to illustrate how when we ask, we DO receive.

The key, the answer…. The Truth… will always be found in YHVH.

KeySeek ye the LORD while he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near:  Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the LORD, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon. For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. Isaiah 55:6-8


Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you: For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened. Matthew 7:7-8

Get in your prayer closet and SEEK Him! 🙂 He is real, He loves you and wants to call you His own. 564419_238167546305296_1408871494_n The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance. 2Pe 3:9

546403_238167429638641_2072639888_nUntil next time, Yah bless!

aaronic-blessing-print

About Maritza

We are a small family of 3 and a bunch of critters.We love God, our Country and it's foundations. We made a BIG move from Texas to Massachusetts in May 2013.This blog captures our 'new' life, there is never a dull moment. There is a lot of charm and character in this place and I plan to unveil it all and bring it to you in the painting presentation of word pictures and more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

