Health Corner – Master Tonic a.k.a. “Plague Tonic”

This is a recipe I’ve been meaning to try for some time, but didn’t have to because a dear friend of mine in Texas (visit her blog here if you’d like lots of great posts there) made a batch and I’ve been “nursing” hers for some time. Now that we are up in Massachusetts I’m having to spread my own wings and fledge that nest of comfort… so with that intro, here is my go at making…

Master Tonic (a.k.a. “Plague Tonic):

2015-05-12 20.13.18Large Glass Jar(s)

  • Raw (with the Mother) Apple Cider Vinegar
    • I keep a gallon of this stuff on hand, go to your local health food store and pic up the gallon, you won’t regret it, it has sooo many wonderful uses. If they don’t have it, have them order it for you.

So you want to chop and have equal parts of the following, for this recipe… the hotter and the fresher the better:

  • Garlic cloves (antibacterial, antifungal, antiviral, antiparasitical)
    • I actually did NOT chop these, in fact some people just throw the whole cloves in, wrapper and all. I didn’t do this, I have a Garlic Press, but I did not use that either. Instead, I just smashed my Garlic.
  • Ginger Root ~FRESH~ (increases circulation to the extremities)
  • Horseraddish root ~FRESH~ (increases blood flow to the head)
  •  HOT Peppers ~FRESH~
    • I had a limited selection of peppers at my local store so I used Jalapenos but any HAWT (as we say in Texas) Pepper will do: Cayenne, Serranos, Habeneros, etc….you can use one exclusively or combine some different ones. My friend mentioned above used Hell Hot Peppers in her batch! Whew, it will have a KICK (which is the point and what you want). Which will lead me to my word of caution.

Since you are working with such potent vegetables, take care of your eyes and skin. I recommend you might want to WEAR GLOVES. For your eyes, well, they say that if you cut your veggies by the sink and run water that helps, but for me… that did not work… so while it could be problematic and I don’t necessarily recommend it this is what I used:

2015-05-12 19.35.40

Ok, as I finished each batch of veggies I layered them in my glass Quart sized Mason Jars. Once that is completed, I filled each jar with Apple Cider Vinegar to cover the veggies. I then used a piece of parchment paper and then screwed the lids on.

?

Finished Jars with Parchment and Lids

The brew time on this concoction is 2 weeks. So lovingly place your jars in a cool, dark place and let them sit. Now at this point many people vary in opinion. Some people say shake your jars vigorously each day. My friend mentioned above says “don’t worry about it.” She said the batch that she gave me had not been shaken and trust me, it was potent and it worked!

After 2 weeks, you will CAREFULLY strain your jars. Pour the liquid part into a jar with a plastic lid and store again in a cool, dry place ~IMPORTANT~. It will last indefinitely this way. You can put the solid veggie parts into your blender and use them in salad dressings or as marinades for your meat. Waste not, want not!

To use, simply take 1 tsp a day for maintenance OR you can take it as needed. If I get that “tingle” in my throat on the verge of a sore throat, I take it and usually I’m fine. If I start sneezing, I take it and I’m fine. It is my first go-to for most common respiratory type issues. Talk about liquid gold. I love this stuff, even though I may look like Bugs Bunny taking medicine when I take it …it’s potent (he does a “bunny dance” I know only some of you will have any idea of what I’m referring to here 😉 ) . I do have some friends that have said that to help with the “kick” they will take it with a T of Honey. I have not tried that, but I did give it to my daughter that way once, she said it was still spicy.

As it happens there are other wonderful ways you can enjoy Master Tonic. You can add it to your cooking, spice up your beans, salad, use your imagination! This stuff really is great! Hope you try it, and if you do, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Note: If you are pregnant and/or nursing take care to research the effects of ginger as it can cause contractions.

**Health Disclaimer**

The information contained on this web site is for information only. This information does not constitute medical advice and it should not be relied upon as such. Starstruck in Southbridge does not recommend any particular treatment and in all cases recommends that you consult your physician.

Until next time, Yah bless!

aaronic-blessing-print

About Maritza

We are a small family of 3 and a bunch of critters.We love God, our Country and it's foundations. We made a BIG move from Texas to Massachusetts in May 2013.This blog captures our 'new' life, there is never a dull moment. There is a lot of charm and character in this place and I plan to unveil it all and bring it to you in the painting presentation of word pictures and more.
This entry was posted in Family, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

