Happy 20th Anniversary to us!

whimsicaldividerKelleyswhimsicaldividerIt was 20 years ago today that I said “I do” to my best friend. We’d had many fun adventures up to that point and, to this date, the fun has continued. Like all normal couples we’ve had ups and downs but we always stuck to that verse in Scripture that says:

 Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath: Eph 4:26

I have been asked before,

“How do you do it?”

While this may be a VERY incomplete list and I may not have a perfect answer, I put together these:

10 tips for a healthy marriage

1. Keep God FIRST.

– This step is most important, if you do this and “forget” the rest, all other things will fall into place! Keep Him at the helm! You can’t go wrong!

For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them. Mat 18:20

2. Read Scripture together EVERYDAY.

-Reading Scripture alone is important and in my opinion, a MUST. A relationship with God is very important, but, there is a saying that I believe in,

“a family that prays together, stays together.”

… oh and PRAY for each other! There are times where you will lean on each other for prayer! When someone is “untouchable” this might be the only way to reach them! Pray for your spouse. As a wife, your family, this means your husband and children are your personal MINISTRY! So pray for your spouse AND your children!

If you need help in this area this is a nice link to check out:

http://alishagratehouse.com/how-to-pray-for-your-husband/

3. Don’t fight, but if you do…. forgive!

-As I said above: “let not the sun set on your anger.” … and forgive

For if ye forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you: Mat 6:14

And be kind towards one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as Elohim also forgave you in Messiah. Eph 4:32

I want to forgive others for their mistakes as quick as I would want Yeshua to forgive me for my own mistakes (shocking I know, but I’m not perfect)!

4. Love

-Almost goes without saying, but… love is so much more than “bedroom activities.” Love is in actions. Giving of oneself to another. Plain and simply said.

This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you. Joh 15:12

5. Respect

-We watched a great series of videos that I HIGHLY recommend for any marriage, whether you are thinking about getting married, in the middle of a “happy” marriage, or in distress. It is wonderful and to me, makes sense. Check out this link: http://loveandrespect.com/ Here is a quote from their site:

We asked 7,000 people this question: when you are in a conflict with your spouse or significant other, do you feel unloved or disrespected?  83% of the men said “disrespected.”  72% of the women said, “unloved.”

6. Laugh… together

-So important! I love to laugh. Whats more is I love to hear my husband and my daughter laugh. Find ways to laugh together.

  A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones. Pro 17:22

7. Honor

Definition: To hold in high regard.

If married couples CHOOSE to hold each other in high regard, they set themselves up for success. Don’t try to find fault in your spouse. Instead, do the opposite. Revere each other!

8. Serve

This goes both ways. Husbands should care for their wives, and wives should care for their husbands.

(See Ephesians 5)

9. Appreciate

Approve and appreciate your spouse. Trouble can arise when spouses forget to acknowledge each other. A simple “thank you” can go a long way. Chores are daily duties, but don’t every weary of saying

“thanks babe, for taking out the trash today.” 🙂

10. Date

-Why should dating END at marriage? Maybe for us dating changed a little because we have had a wee one toting along for the past 14 years, buy hey! The more, the merrier! Right? Of course right.

Sometimes dating might need to be redefined. Why not have a “date” at home. After the kids are tucked in? When our daughter was little, bedtime was strictly observed. After she was cared for and in bed it was “movie time.” We’d snuggle up and watch a movie! Fun, fun! More fun to me than sitting in a stuffy restaurant or in a sticky movie theater. (Just sayin’)

So these are just a FEW ways in which to embellish our marriages. I hope that you might be blessed by these tips.

As for us, here is to MANY more years to come. Yah willing! Bless you all!

divider

New England in Julydivider

About Maritza

We are a small family of 3 and a bunch of critters.We love God, our Country and it's foundations. We made a BIG move from Texas to Massachusetts in May 2013.This blog captures our 'new' life, there is never a dull moment. There is a lot of charm and character in this place and I plan to unveil it all and bring it to you in the painting presentation of word pictures and more.
Image | This entry was posted in Adventure, Anniversary, Family, God, Protection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

